Altar Boyz

Altar Boyz

Written by Michael Patrick Walker (music and lyrics) and his collaborators Gary Adler (music and lyrics) and Kevin Del Aguila (book), Altar Boyz tells the hilarious story of a Christian boy band on the final night of their “Raise the Praise” tour.  Will Matthew, Mark, Luke, Juan and Abraham still be together when the curtain comes down or will the hilarious secrets that are revealed put the band asunder.

Altar Boyz is the winner of the 2005 Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Off Broadway Musical. Michael (with Gary Adler) received Drama Desk nominations for both Outstanding Music and Outstanding Lyrics – 2 of the 7 nominations the show received, including Best Musical. The Off Broadway production was choreographed by Christopher Gattelli and directed by Stafford Arima and closed on January 10, 2010 having played 16 previews and 2,032 regular performances making it the 9th longest running Off Broadway musical of all time!

“The Miracle Song” – Original Cast
lead vocals – Ryan Duncan

“Epiphany” – Original Cast
lead vocals – Tyler Maynard

“Body, Mind and Soul” – Original Cast
lead vocals – Andy Karl

The New York Times“The songs are the show’s substance…sly parodies cooked up by the skilled songwriters, Gary Adler and Michael Patrick Walker”

– Charles Isherwood

New York Post“[The score is] tuneful and the lyrics are consistently amusing”

– Frank Scheck

Vaiety“[The score is full of] melodic pop and clever, double-entendre-laden lyrics”

– Steven Oxman

Vaiety“The soulful showstopper…Epiphany, [is] a hilarious Catholic coming-out”

– David Rooney

The Star Ledger“[Altar Boyz is] A 90-minute tornado of tasty pop tunes”

– Michael Sommers

Chicago Sun Times“[The] score is unfailingly catchy, clever and exuberant”

– Hedy Weiss